I was born in Rome in 1964 where I lived until the completion of my university degree.

In 1994, after declining an attractive career in the private sector, I moved abroad to study Economics. I lived in Manchester (UK), Vienna (Austria), Aalborg (Denmark). 

In 1995 I married my long-time partner, Carla, and in 1998 we had our first child.

In 2000 I completed my studies and returned in Rome, and after one year we had our second child.

Since then I worked as university researcher, traveling frequently abroad, raising the children, and generally enjoying a pleasant life.

Since 2010 I began what may amount as a second career in politics. Initially to I was motivated by the fight to defend the public university system against right-wing reforms reducing the independence of researchers

Later I tried to contribute to the political life to identity and promote a progressive policy agenda. 


1984 - completed a fairly inglorious diploma in Classical studies (Mamiani high school)

1984 - 1992 Degree in Statistics and Economics, University of  Rome "La Sapienza"

1992 - 1994 Contracts with the CNR

1994 - 1995 M.A. in Economics, 
University of Manchester

1996 - 1997 Research contract in IIASA, Vienna

1997 - 2000 PhD in Economics, Aalborg

1998 - 1999 Researcher in Istat, Rome (on leave)

2000 - 2001 PostDoc in Trento

2001 - 2015 Researcher in Economics, University of L'Aquila

2012 - 2013 Elected as Representative of researchers in the National University Council (CUN)

2015 - 2019 Associate Professor, University of L'Aquila

2018 - Candidate (not elected) to the regional council for the 5 Star Movement

2019 - 2020 Advisor to the Minister of Education and Research, on. L.Fioramonti

2019 - now Full professor in Economics, University of L'Aquila